Dermatology Associates logo

Dermatology Associates

Skin care clinic · Oak Forest, IL · reviewed since 2014

How the Experts Score is calculatedEach factor is scored 0–100 on absolute terms (standing in the category can only raise it), then weighted; problems flagged in review highlights or a recent slide in ratings are subtracted:Satisfaction 55%48+26.2Reliability 24%1+0.2Value 14%97+13.7Replies to reviews 7%51+3.6Momentum penalty0−10Experts Score= 34Grade D: A = 80+, B = 60–79, C = 40–59, D = 20–39. Needs 10+ reviews.34SCORE
DGradeLetter from the Experts Score: A = 80+, B = 60–79, C = 40–59, D = 20–39, F = under 20.
#26 of 27 dermatologistsPosition by Experts Score among all companies we track in this category. · better than 4%
4.7 ★★★★★ 952 Google reviews · 10 photos
86%five-star reviews
2.91★last 12 monthsAverage stars on reviews from the last 12 months only.
38.2%1–2★ in 2 yearsShare of 1–2★ reviews in the last 24 months — or the 20 newest reviews when the company had fewer than 20 in that time.
26%reviews answered by the owner
Oct 2026latest review

Dermatology Associates at a glance

Google reviewers rate Dermatology Associates 4.7 out of 5 based on 952 reviews, with the owner responding to 26% of comments. Patients frequently praise punctuality, thorough examinations, and effective treatments for conditions like skin cancer and cosmetic procedures. However, recurring criticisms highlight long wait times beyond scheduled appointments, inadequate communication regarding medication renewals, and billing disputes for diagnostic services.

  • Google rating: 4.7 out of 5 from 952 reviews (86% five-star).
  • Reviews on this page: 952 Google reviews (569 with written comments, 1 with photos).
  • Owner responses: the business replied to 26% of reviews.
  • Most recent review: October 14, 2026.
  • Service: Dermatologist serving Oak Forest, Illinois.

Data from Google, last updated October 28, 2026.

Score profile vs other dermatologists

Score per factor (100 = best)Each factor is scored 0–100 on absolute terms (star average, share of 1–2★ reviews, price verdicts…); standing within the category can only raise it, never lower it.. Strongest: craft & service and value; weakest: momentum.

Satisfaction48Reliability1Craft & service100Value97Momentum0Replies to reviews51Satisfaction: 48 (median 90)Reliability: 1 (median 86)Craft & service: 100 (median 100)Value: 97 (median 97)Momentum: 0 (median 100)Replies to reviews: 51 (median 71)
Dermatology AssociatesDermatologists median0 = centre, 100 = best
SatisfactionSatisfaction · 54% of the scoreRecency-weighted star average (2-year half-life), shrunk toward the category mean by review volume; the company’s own lifetime average as the prior; absolute: 4.0★ = 0, 5★ = 100.Dermatology Associates: 48/100 on this factor. Category median: 90.C
48
ReliabilityReliability · 24% of the scoreHow rarely jobs go badly: share of 1–2★ reviews — 60% the last 24 months (or the 20 newest if fewer), 40% all-time; 0% = 100, 15%+ = 0; the category percentile can only raise it.Dermatology Associates: 1/100 on this factor. Category median: 86.F
1
Craft & serviceCraft & service · penalty only, up to −10 pointsGoogle review highlights: Quality, Professionalism, Responsiveness, Punctuality — how rarely reviewers flag them as a negative, per review since highlights began; 0% = 100, 5%+ = 0. Subtracted from the score (up to −10), never averaged in — clean highlights are the norm, not a bonus.Dermatology Associates: 100/100 on this factor. Category median: 100.A
100
ValueValue · 14% of the scoreCustomers’ own price verdicts (Great / Reasonable vs Overpriced) and Value highlights; 65% absolute (all “reasonable” ≈ 80, “great” = 100), the category percentile can only raise it.Dermatology Associates: 97/100 on this factor. Category median: 97.A
97
MomentumMomentum · penalty only, up to −10 pointsPenalises only a real slide: last-12-month average below lifetime (−0.5★ = 0). Still 4.8★+ over the last year, or steady/improving = 100. Subtracted from the score (up to −10), never averaged in.Dermatology Associates: 0/100 on this factor. Category median: 100.F
0
Replies to reviewsReplies to reviews · 7% of the scoreHow often the owner publicly replies to reviews under 5★ (1–4★). Needs 3+ such reviews, otherwise not counted; 65% absolute (80%+ replied = 100), the category percentile can only raise it.Dermatology Associates: 51/100 on this factor. Category median: 71.C
51

Bar = this company · dark tick = category median.

Star ratings

952 Google reviews we collected

  • 5 stars81886%
  • 4 stars616%
  • 3 stars131%
  • 2 stars111%
  • 1 star495%

Praise vs complaints

Phrases our text analysis found in 569 written reviews

  • Praise74094%
  • Complaints506%

Topic share

How often each topic comes up in the written reviews

  • Staff & attitude36046%
  • Would recommend11715%
  • Speed & response11214%
  • Quality & results10313%
  • Communication658%
  • Price & value172%
  • Honesty & trust162%

What customers talk about

We read 569 written reviews and marked every phrase about these topics. The same colors are highlighted in the reviews.

  • “Professional staff, minimal wait times, and the physician assistants and who truly takes their time to explain and answer any questions.”
    “She was very rude and Noone refunded me my $40 co-pay.”
  • “I recommend this office to all of my friends and family.”
    “This facility came highly recommended from a friend, but I am highly disappointed.”
  • “They got me in quickly because my Dr thought it might be serious.”
    “My medication renewal was delayed because the office decided I needed a follow up appointment but never notified me directly.”
  • “The staff and the PA who took care of me were kind, thorough, and professional.”
    “Incompetent and Unprofessional staff members who laugh on the phone in response to an upset patient calling regarding an error that they made by putti…”
  • “Took their time to explain and write everything down for us.”
  • “Tuttle was pleasant, performed a thorough assessment, and developed a reasonable treatment plan.”
    “Really liked my doctor then they just raised the prices that were already high to an increase of $185 for a single self pay appointment that’s an incr…”
  • “She was so attentive, so compassionate, very knowledgeable, and genuinely showed she cared about my concerns.”
    “Everyone except the girl who made the appointment was rude and now I drive an hour each way, was lied to, treated very poorly, and am currently out $40.”

People customers mention

  • Iyengar 47 reviews
  • Mesirow 30 reviews
  • Pyle 24 reviews
  • Ovando 19 reviews
  • Fiore 17 reviews
  • Michelle 15 reviews

praise complaint · found by our text analysis, Google review wording unchanged.

Recent reviews

EveLocal Guide · 17 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews this person has written across all businesses on Google Maps (not just this one). More reviews usually means a more experienced, trustworthy reviewer. · 2 months ago★★

I have been here in the doctors room waiting for 20 minutes been here for an hour . Why do yall bring patients in the room just to wait even longer I’m not use to this type of wait time. Then before her assistant left she said “she’ll be in when she can “ I should’ve known it was going to take forever well I guess…

ZBIGNIEW1 reviewTotal number of Google reviews this person has written across all businesses on Google Maps (not just this one). More reviews usually means a more experienced, trustworthy reviewer. · 2 months ago★

Called in to make on appointment,,, Instead of asking what is the problem and how we can help ,they are worry about insurance provider ,, Not recommended ,,,

ElizabethLocal Guide · 57 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews this person has written across all businesses on Google Maps (not just this one). More reviews usually means a more experienced, trustworthy reviewer. · Edited 4 months ago★★★★★

I've had 2 successful skin tag removal procedures. Don't get me wrong, it's going to be uncomfortable to an extent, but Jennifer was gentle and effective at removing them. Unfortunately the issue typically returns, but I'm comfortable choosing this office to take care of it. THEN- I thought I had a skin tag on the…

SharonLocal Guide · 35 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews this person has written across all businesses on Google Maps (not just this one). More reviews usually means a more experienced, trustworthy reviewer. · 4 months ago★

My 91 year old parents were clients of theirs. A couple of months ago I get postcards in the mail for them since they are now in assisted living and I had their mail forwarded to me. I discussed with my siblings that I felt this was not something we were going to drag them out for and tossed the postcards. Two…

Customer photo from Sharon's review
Ted4 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews this person has written across all businesses on Google Maps (not just this one). More reviews usually means a more experienced, trustworthy reviewer. · 5 months ago★★★★★

The best dermatologist in the New Lenox area! Professional staff, minimal wait times, and the physician assistants and who truly takes their time to explain and answer any questions..

LinnettaLocal Guide · 387 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews this person has written across all businesses on Google Maps (not just this one). More reviews usually means a more experienced, trustworthy reviewer. · 6 months ago★★★

Long wait to see dermatologist. Had to wait over 45 minutes. Very cold and non caring medical assistant.

Photos

Customer reviews

4.7 ★★★★★ 952 reviews on Google · rating breakdown

Reviews from Google, shown as published (original wording, unedited).

Team members customers mention
Filter by topic — each topic is highlighted in the reviews in the same color
Anthony PellegriniLocal Guide · 78 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews Anthony has written across all businesses on Google Maps, not just this one.
Review from Google · view on Google
★★★★★

Quick and effective

EveLocal Guide · 17 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews Eve has written across all businesses on Google Maps, not just this one.
Review from Google · view on Google
★★★★★

I have been here in the doctors room waiting for 20 minutes been here for an hour . Why do yall bring patients in the room just to wait even longer I’m not use to this type of wait time. Then before her assistant left she said “she’ll be in when she can “ I should’ve known it was going to take forever well I guess I’m switching physicians again because this is ridiculous. Should’ve know better to come in here as an African American woman and he treated fairly .

Response from the owner · 2 months ago

Thank you for sharing your concerns. We sincerely apologize for the extended wait you experienced during your visit. We understand how frustrating it is to be waiting, particularly after already spending a significant amount of time in the office. We also take your concerns regarding how you were treated very seriously. Every patient deserves to feel respected, heard, and treated with dignity and fairness, and we are committed to providing that experience to every person who walks through our doors. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly so that we can better understand what occurred during your visit and address your concerns appropriately. Please contact our office and ask to speak with a member of management. We value your feedback and will use it to help us improve the patient experience.

ZBIGNIEW RUTKA1 reviewTotal number of Google reviews ZBIGNIEW has written across all businesses on Google Maps, not just this one.
Review from Google · view on Google
★★★★★

Called in to make on appointment,,, Instead of asking what is the problem and how we can help ,they are worry about insurance provider ,, Not recommended ,,,

Amelia Jane CastleLocal Guide · 190 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews Amelia has written across all businesses on Google Maps, not just this one.
Review from Google · view on Google
★★★★★

Thorough check ups. Not s long wait time.👍

Response from the owner · 2 months ago

thank you for the positive feedback

lauren mannLocal Guide · 20 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews lauren has written across all businesses on Google Maps, not just this one.
Review from Google · view on Google
★★★★★

Long wait at all the locations!

Response from the owner · 3 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the long wait times you've experienced at our locations. We understand that your time is valuable, and we know waiting can be frustrating. Our providers are committed to giving each patient the time and attention they need, and occasionally this can lead to delays, particularly when unexpected medical concerns or urgent cases arise. That said, we recognize the importance of staying on schedule and are continually working to improve our scheduling and patient flow across all of our offices. We appreciate your patience and your feedback, as it helps us identify opportunities to improve. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience at your next visit.

Sharnay SLocal Guide · 15 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews Sharnay has written across all businesses on Google Maps, not just this one.
Review from Google · view on Google
★★★★★

If your treatment depends on ongoing medication, pay close attention to how this office communicates. My medication renewal was delayed because the office decided I needed a follow up appointment but never notified me directly. Instead, I was told they informed the specialty pharmacy and expected the pharmacy to tell me. I was never called, texted, sent a portal message, or left a voicemail. I only found out there was a problem when I tried to refill my medication. When I called to express my concern, I was asked, “So you want somebody to tell you every time you should come in?” Yes. If a physician decides a patient must be seen before continuing treatment, the patient should be notified directly. That should not be the pharmacy’s responsibility. A simple phone call or portal message could have prevented this entire situation. Instead, my care was interrupted because no one from the office contacted me. Communication is part of healthcare, and this experience completely eroded my trust in this practice. I will be transferring my care elsewhere.

Response from the owner · 3 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize that your experience left you feeling frustrated and disappointed. At our practice, we recognize the importance of continuity of care and clear communication, particularly for patients on ongoing medications. We have established processes in place to inform patients when follow-up appointments are necessary to ensure treatment remains safe and appropriate. While we regret that your experience did not meet your expectations, please know that patient feedback is invaluable and helps us evaluate and strengthen our processes. We understand how concerning any perceived breakdown in communication can be and appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. We wish you the very best in your continued care and thank you for the opportunity to learn from your feedback.

Lillian AnguianoLocal Guide · 170 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews Lillian has written across all businesses on Google Maps, not just this one.
Review from Google · view on Google
★★★★★

Great service love Michelle Ovendo. She sees both myself and my husband.

Response from the owner · 3 months ago

Thank you for the positive feedback. We will be sure to share this with Michelle and the team.

Melissa G.12 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews Melissa has written across all businesses on Google Maps, not just this one.
Review from Google · view on Google
★★★★★

When making the appointment it was expressed I had to be out of the office before 4:30pm tomorrow pick up my kids. The person scheduling assured me that would be no problem at all because appointments are 15 minutes only. I called the same day an hour before the appointment to make sure I’d be out by 4:39on to pick my kids up at camp and again was reassured it was no issue. When I arrived they took my copayment of $40 and then said the doctor was well over an hour behind. When I expressed I had just called before traveling 45 minutes for my appointment the girl rolled her eyes and said the number of their office goes to a call center and they don't know anything about delays. She was very rude and Noone refunded me my $40 co-pay. This place was so packed to there were barely any seats. Please do yourself a favor and find a place that doesn't over book and cares about customer service. Everyone except the girl who made the appointment was rude and now I drive an hour each way, was lied to, treated very poorly, and am currently out $40.

Response from the owner · 4 months ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely apologize for the frustration and inconvenience you encountered. We understand how important it is to keep appointments on schedule, especially when coordinating family and work responsibilities. We are very sorry that the information you received regarding the provider's delay did not accurately reflect the circumstances when you arrived. We would also like to clarify that our practice does not utilize a call center. All calls are answered by members of our in-house team. Unfortunately, provider schedules can sometimes change unexpectedly due to patient care needs, emergencies, or procedures that require additional time, and delays may not always be apparent when a patient calls ahead. We are equally concerned to hear about your interaction with our staff. Providing courteous, respectful service is a core expectation of our team, and we take feedback regarding customer service very seriously. Regarding your copay, we would appreciate the opportunity to review what occurred and ensure any outstanding concerns are properly addressed. We value all patient feedback and regret that your experience did not reflect the level of care and service we strive to provide.

Elizabeth ALocal Guide · 57 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews Elizabeth has written across all businesses on Google Maps, not just this one.
Review from Google · view on Google
★★★★★

I've had 2 successful skin tag removal procedures. Don't get me wrong, it's going to be uncomfortable to an extent, but Jennifer was gentle and effective at removing them. Unfortunately the issue typically returns, but I'm comfortable choosing this office to take care of it. THEN- I thought I had a skin tag on the back of my head, but I obviously couldn't see it well. But it was something completely different and Taylor diagnosed, removed and treated it that day. Everyone is kind. I would recommend here.

Response from the owner · 3 years ago

Lizzy, thank you for sharing your experience and for your 5 star rating. We are delighted to be your chosen dermatologists!

Sharon ReuszLocal Guide · 35 reviewsTotal number of Google reviews Sharon has written across all businesses on Google Maps, not just this one.
Review from Google · view on Google
★★★★★

My 91 year old parents were clients of theirs. A couple of months ago I get postcards in the mail for them since they are now in assisted living and I had their mail forwarded to me. I discussed with my siblings that I felt this was not something we were going to drag them out for and tossed the postcards. Two weeks ago the doorbell rings and it’s the mailman with two REGISTERED letters addressed to each of my parents from Dermatology Associates!?!? I actually had to sign for these! I thought maybe they owed money for a missed appointment or something…nope…just telling them they need to make an appointment soon. WHO DOES THAT? Make it make sense! IMO it almost feels like harassment! Leave us alone!

Response from the owner · 4 months ago

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the frustration this situation caused. Our intent was never to create stress or inconvenience for your parents or your family. As a medical practice, we have a responsibility to communicate important healthcare recommendations to our patients, particularly when they may be due for follow-up care. In some circumstances, when standard reminders do not receive a response, additional correspondence may be sent to ensure patients have been notified of recommended care. We understand that receiving registered letters can feel excessive, especially when there was no outstanding balance or urgent issue involved. Your comments are valuable, and we will review our communication processes to ensure they remain respectful and appropriate for patients and their families. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and wish your parents and family all the best.

Dermatology Associates on Google Maps →

Business details